Nordic is one of Sweden’s most renowned and style-forming folk bands and continues to develop and touch its audience after many active years. With an infectious playfulness and charm, the band has made success both in Sweden and abroad. The group’s successes have led to several awards and taken the band to many recognized international scenes and festivals. In recent years, Nordic has made acclaimed collaboration with major classical orchestras in Sweden. With the roots of folk music, the trio eagerly experiment to challenge and test the vague contours of tradition. The Swedish nyckelharpa meets mandolin and cello in an interaction with space for the spontaneous ideas of the moment. The band’s very own sound carries narrative tunes and challenging rhythms. The result is sometimes cinematic compositions filled with sounds, rhythms, groove, reggae and improvisation. The group is now working on renewing their repertoire and may present new material after this summer.

Nordic is

  • Anders Löfberg – cello
  • Erik Rydvall – nyckelharpa
  • Magnus Zetterlund – mandolin


“The trio’s newly composed contemporary folk music and equilibristic playing is amongst the most vital and intelligent that the genre today has to offer“ –

“—Nordic, in some incredible way, creates small universes of rhythm and groove of all kinds in their music…”

Karl-Johan Ankarblom

Arbetarbladet                      Arbetarbladet
Dagens nyheter                  DN
Nya Wermlands tidning Nya Wermland
Svenska Dagbladet           SvD